It’s Wednesday and I’m hot

Your favorite complainy blogger is back! Happy Wednesday friends, for those of you still dans l’école (in school… I’m a French minor who’s bad at French, I need all the practice I can get) summer is at your fingertips, you’re right there, power through these last few weeks! For those of you travailler (working) job=money, money=iced coffee, and iced coffee=happiness. Just keep that in mind when you feel like you want to throw yourself down a flight of stairs while working.

So it’s Wednesday, it’s 83 degrees and I’m hot. Most people are frickin rejoicing about the warm weather finally arriving, not me. I’m all for a nice 75, 83 is a bit too much. Ever since I was little, I’ve had an incredibly high internal body temperature. Ok not like I have a fever all the time but I’m always hot. There are pictures of me, circa like 2001, in the middle of december running around in a slip (those white things we sometimes wear under dresses). I would quite literally take my dress and my tights off, and go about my life, much to my mother’s dismay.

The earliest memory I have of these happenings was one Christmas eve. I couldn’t have been older than three. My entire extended family was sitting in our family room j chillin, enjoying the holiday and I was sat in a corner sweating my little butt off. It was at that moment when I decided to be rid of the so 90’s christmas jumper my mother had dressed me in, and rock the slip.

I was a trend setter from the beginning.

So there’s that story. I’ve made a new discovery regarding my hair that I’m going to tell you about even though it couldn’t be further from the last thing I just talked about.

~TRANSITION~

I have pretty short hair, I’ve got that whole angled bob thing where it’s shorter in the back and longer in the front. Basically, it’s as short as it can possibly be, but still allows me to put it into a little ponytail. Good enough visual? Good. Moving on. I have recently rediscovered my love for hats. I shower in the morning, throw a hat on and let my hair air dry underneath, and I’m done. That’s it! Looking presentable as hell with literally no effort. It’s a lovely thing.

I’ll give you an example, so I’m  about to go to work, where I need to look trendy, and cute (I work at this adorable little boutique) and I really didn’t feel like applying heat to my hair today because it’s so hot, but my outfit needed something. (Another visual for you -I’m wearing a clearly too big skater dress, cinched at the waist with a dark denim shirt, and tan sandals). I threw on my fav straw hat just for funsies and was like “well shit that worked out conveniently”  I added an accessory and didn’t have to do my hair. That’s a W if I’ve ever seen one. So that’s all for today friends. I’m really not that interesting but my mother only half listens to my constant talking so I need to share with somebody.

Stay cool, loves. Or warm. Whatever floats your goat.

~ Rae

Leave a Reply

