The solo doctor’s visit

Today… (pause for dramatic effect) I went to the doctor all by myself.

So, as many of you know, I’m a type one diabetic, so I’m at the doctor’s office literally every other day. I’ve been seeing the same endocrinologist (diabetes doctor) since I was three, and so at the ripe old age of 19, my mom and I decided that I should probably stop seeing a pediatric doctor.

Today I took myself to the adult doctor all by my self. It was a rather monumental day.

It started like any other, I got up, got my coffee and spent way too much time deciding what to wear. Blah blah blah normal everyday things, so then its like 12:30, my appointment was at 1:30, but I was told to get there early so I could fill out paperwork, apparently I thought showing up an hour early is the ideal thing to do.

So I get to the doctor’s office, fill out all two sheets of paperwork and then sit in the waiting room watching crappy daytime talk shows. Let me tell you, daytime talk shows suck. Don’t watch them, they’re awful, and boring, and loud, and unnecessary.

Moving on, my name is finally called and I do all the normal things one does at a doctor’s appointment. The whole thing took about 45 minutes. They were the most adult minutes of my entire life.

In reality, the whole ordeal was uneventful and I’m sure to everyone in the waiting room did not give a single shit that I, Rae, had taken myself to the doctor all by myself for the very first time, but it was a rather monumental day in my history.

So yeah, that’s pretty much it, stay groovy, dudes.

~Rae

Leave a Reply

